View all news

HSAP Appoints New Members

The AST is delighted to announce that Dr Elvira de Eyto and Dr Lorraine Hawkins have agreed to join the Honorary Scientific Research Panel (HSAP).  This group of eminent scientists play a pivotal role in guiding the AST Executive Team and Board on the quality of the science undertaken and offer advice on new and emerging areas of science in which the Trust might consider getting involved in.

Dr de Eyto has worked as a biologist for the Marine Institute in a core scientific post since 2003. The focus of her current job is the long term ecological monitoring of the Burrishoole catchment, Co. Mayo, (, which  is an internally important index site for the monitoring of diadromous fish stocks of the north Atlantic.  Research interests include fish stock assessment, high frequency monitoring of aquatic ecosystems using sensors, the impact of climate and land use change on peatland catchments and network science. She has co-authored more than 75 peer reviewed publications on a diverse range of subjects.

Dr Hawkins is currently the current River Director on the Dee. She joined the Dee in 2008 as a Biologist, having previously worked with Fishery Boards and Marine Scotland Science. Her current role, as River Director, sees Lorraine charged with taking forward the Trust and Fishery Board to ensure sound management of the rivers, fish and fisheries within the district, delivered by the Dee’s strong, dedicated team.

To find out more about the HSAP, please click here.

Sign up to our newsletter

Sign up to receive Atlantic Salmon Trust updates through our newsletter.
It’s the best way to stay up-to-date with all of our news.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.